RSS Feed

Plaid Pavot Jacket

Posted on

I don’t typically post about projects that are currently in-progress, but I am positively giddy about this one.

You might say that this particular sewing project began years ago when my mother started making these excellent bags out of IKEA fabric. I must confess that I do not own a store-bought bag/purse, unless you count my Trader Joe’s freezer bags. My mother spoils me terribly. You can see the bag she made me for Christmas below. It is adorable and practical and sturdy. Understandably, I fell in love with the orange and cream polka dots print, so I decided  this was it: this was the IKEA fabric for my coat.

IKEA fabric bag of wonder and glory

Of course, because the course of true love never did run smooth, when I got to IKEA in January, the store was entirely out of the orange and cream polka dot fabric except for the display sample hanging over the fabric area. After talking myself down from climbing on precarious shelving units to abscond with the sample (there wasn’t even a yard of fabric there, so reason prevailed), I looked around at the other options. The red, blue and green plaid that IKEA brought out at Christmas ultimately won out. Frankly, now that I have started piecing the coat together, I think it will see far more wear than an orange and cream coat ever would. I really do love red. The fabric is upholstery weight but still flexible and easy to sew.

Plaid Pavot in progress (back)

I have not really worked with a plaid before, and there is certainly a learning curve involved. Wisdom would have led me to read up on how to match plaids when cutting out patterns before beginning, so of course I didn’t. I did not realize until late in the process that because the plaid pattern is woven in the fabric instead of printed, the fabric is reversible. This is particularly important as this plaid is NOT symmetrical. I initially believed that I wouldn’t be able to get the two fronts, etc to mirror each other, but because the fabric is reversible, I could get a true match. I did end up cutting out some of the pattern pieces twice once I realized that the fabric was reversible. Now that I can see how nicely things align, I can’t believe I debated over it! I have been pleasantly surprised by some of the points where the plaids match without any additional effort or intent on my part.

Another post with the finished project will be soon to follow! And just in time, too, as the weather is warming up enough for a cheery Spring jacket.

About autumnyarn

I am a graduate student who sews and knits to satisfy the creative urge, makes clothing to keep the creativity useful, and writes about it to de-stress.

2 responses »

  1. GORGEOUS! Can’t wait to see the finished garment. PS. Love the little peak at the tea station in your dining room.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

